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I. INTRODUCTION  
 

A. The Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act of 2004 authorizes the 
concealed carry of firearms by law enforcement officers and retired law 
enforcement officers throughout the United States.  Retired officers must 
have qualified with the type of weapon they are carrying within the 
previous 12 months and be carrying photographic identification from the 
agency from which they have retired or an authorized state agency. 

 
B. The department has established guidelines for retiree firearms certification 

through the Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act (LEOSA).  
 
 
II. POLICY 
 

A. LEOSA does not: 
 

1. Supersede the laws of any state that permit private parties from 
banning or restricting the possession of concealed firearms on their 
premises.   

 
2. Supersede the laws of any state that prohibit the possession of a 

firearm on governmental property, military bases, buildings, or 
parks.  

 
3. Provide authority for a person to carry a concealed firearm while 

under the influence of alcohol or any other intoxicating or 
hallucinating substance.  

 
4. Allow any person to carry a concealed firearm if the person is 

prohibited by federal law from carrying a firearm. 
 

5. Authorize officers or retirees to carry machine guns, firearm 
silencers, or destructive devices as defined by federal law  

 
6. Require retirees to qualify with specific weapons.  However, 

LEOSA does require retirees to qualify with each type of weapon 
(pistol or revolver) that the retiree will carry under LEOSA authority.  
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B. The Kansas City Missouri Police Department (KCPD) will provide retired 
KCPD officers (retiree/s) with the opportunity to qualify under LEOSA. 

 
C. Retirees qualified under LEOSA will be provided with identification cards 

indicating their LEOSA qualification.  This identification will provide the 
contact number of the department so that LEOSA may be verified.  
LEOSA does not convey any law enforcement authority upon a retiree.  

 
D. Retirees must annually meet certain LEOSA standards before being 

eligible for LEOSA carry authority.  The retiree must: 
 

1. Have retired in good standing for reasons other than mental 
instability.  

 
2. Have been regularly employed as a law enforcement officer for a 

total of at least 10 years or have been medically retired for a 
service connected disability after having completed probation. 

 
3. Have met department standards for retiree firearms training and 

qualification within the previous 12 months. 
 

4. Have separated from active service or retired.  
 

E. The LEOSA qualification process will include a written affidavit from the 
retiree specifying that they are eligible to carry under LEOSA. 

 
 

III. PROCEDURES  
 

A. Retirees will pay a non-refundable licensing fee of $55 in cash, check, or 
money order made payable to the “Board of Police Commissioners.” This 
must be paid at the Academy before the qualification session.   

 
B. The Firearms Section will ensure that appropriate record checks be made 

to verify LEOSA eligibility.  They will also ensure that a retiree receive 
medical clearance before allowing them to complete training and 
qualification.  In no case will an individual deemed medically or 
psychologically unfit to carry a weapon be allowed to qualify or authorized 
to carry under LEOSA authority.  Appeals of the Firearms Section’s 
decision relative to an individual deemed medically or psychologically unfit 
to carry a weapon will be directed to the Chief of Police.  

 
C. The Firearms Section will schedule one qualification session for retirees 

desiring to qualify under LEOSA the first Friday of each month, unless 
otherwise notified of a different date.  

 
 
 
 
D. On the scheduled day of qualification, the retiree must: 
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1. Present a receipt showing that they have paid the non-refundable 
licensing fee of $55 before being allowed to qualify.  

 
2. Bring their own weapon, holster, ammunition, and loading devices 

(magazines, speed-loaders, etc.) for the qualification attempt.  
 

a. Retirees will need a minimum of two magazines with six 
round capacity for semi-automatics and two speed-loaders 
for revolvers.  Shooters attempting to fire the course with a 
single magazine or one or no speed-loaders will not have 
time to reload during the course.    

 
b. If the retiree arrives without any of the necessary equipment, 

if the equipment is deemed to be unsafe by the Firearms 
Section, or in such a condition as to be unserviceable, the 
retiree will not be allowed to attempt the qualification course.   

 
E. Retirees will shoot the current department approved handgun qualification 

course and be scored on a pass/fail basis. The minimum score to pass is 
75%. 

 
F. Upon successful qualification, the retiree will: 
 
 1. Be given a qualification sheet indicating they passed the course.  
 

2. Report to the KCPD Annex to be issued an ID card with a 
photograph indicating they are an armed retired officer who has 
qualified with a weapon in compliance with LEOSA.  The ID card 
will have an issue date on it indicating the retiree is approved to 
carry a firearm for the next 12 months and it will expire one year 
from the date the retiree qualified.   

  
G. Failure to qualify  
 

1. If the retiree fails on their first qualification attempt, they will not 
receive a qualification sheet and will be advised of the next 
qualification date.  Failing a qualification attempt would include any 
weapon/ammunition failure or if the instructor discontinues the 
attempt by the retiree due to a safety violation or other shooter 
induced inability to complete the attempt.  

 
2. If the retiree fails to qualify on the second attempt, and it is within a 

six month period from the initial failure, they will not be allowed to 
make another attempt at qualifying for an additional six months.  

 
 
 
 

H. The Firearms Section will keep a copy of all retiree qualification sheets. 
The sheet will include the date of qualification, the weapon used and serial 
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number of that weapon, and the retiree’s information including social 
security number.  

 
 
 
 

Darryl Forté 
Chief of Police 
 

 
Adopted by the Board of Police Commissioners this ______day of ________________, 2012. 
 
 

 
 
 
 

Lisa Pelofsky 
Board President 
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